BR: Heir of Fire, by Sarah J. Maas

72486_original.jpg

Title: Heir of Fire

Author: Sarah J. Maas

Genre: High Fantasy

Published: 2014

Pages: 576

My Rating: 5/5 Stars


Synopsis From Goodreads:

Celaena Sardothien has survived deadly contests and shattering heartbreak—but at an unspeakable cost. Now she must travel to a new land to confront her darkest truth…a truth about her heritage that could change her life—and her future—forever.
Meanwhile, brutal and monstrous forces are gathering on the horizon, intent on enslaving her world. To defeat them, Celaena must find the strength to not only fight her inner demons but to battle the evil that is about to be unleashed.


Hello everyone,

welcome to my review of Heir of Fire, third installment in the Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas. In case you did not know, the series tells the story of Celaena Sardothien, a fierce assassin who, after winning a competition, has become the king’s champion. This book continues the narration of Celaena’s adventures. I cannot say much more than this without spoiling any plot happenings, so let’s get into the spoiler-free section of the review. Of course this book was a 5/5 stars for me.

SPOILER-FREE REVIEW

  •  Plot: I thought that this book was a little bit slower than Crown of Midnight, but I also think that the slowness of the plot was needed, and that is why it took me longer to finish. This is the middle book to the series, and there was a necessity for the author to explain several things that had been lingering for the two previous books. This installment is heavily based on world building, both from a historical and political point of view, as well as on character development, especially for Celaena and Rowan. I loved how towards the last third there are several plot twists that blow your mind.
  • Characters: if there is anything that Sarah J. Maas knows how to do brilliantly is the construction of her characters. I thought that Chaol, Dorian and Celaena grew so much in this book, both as people and as social beings. The introduction of two new characters was also amazing: I loved both Rowan and Manon, and how different but at the same time similar they are.
  • Writing: I love Sarah’s writing, it keeps you gripped the whole time, and her novels are written in a way that you can be reading for hours without realizing it. Sometimes she is cold, sometimes dramatic, and I love how she can mange different tones for different situations, thus rendering the whole reading experience even more rich. She also has a particular ability at making me cry. Sniff, sniff.

I cannot say much more without spoiling everything unfortunately. If you have not yet read this series, just go and pick it up because it is amazing. I am so excited for the fifth installment to the series to be released in September, and its title will be Empire of Storms. I am beyond excited to read it! If you have read this series, please let me know in the comments!

Until next time,

Keky

**SPOILER-ALERT** SECTION – Do not read further if you do not want to be spoiled!

Oh my god. Oh my god. There is so much I need to say about this freaking book. Let’s start form the beginning.

  • IMG_4481I couldn’t believe that Chaol trusted Aedion enough to say that Aelin was alive. Even though in the end he made the right choice, on the spot I thought, what the hell. I like Aedion, even though I don’t know where Sarah wants to go with him… is he going to be a fanatic follower of Aelin? Would he do something stupid for her? I am excited to see.
  • Alright, I hated Rowan for the first half of the book. Then he told his story and how he lost his mate, and I found myself crying. I have loved Rowan since then. Have you felt the sexual tension between him and Aelin as well? I did, and sometimes it made me feel uncomfortable I don’t know why… even though a part of me likes them together.
  • I cannot believe that the king sent the Valg to Wendlyn, and I can’t believe that Aelin managed to kill them! The whole battle scene was amazing, and it was so good to see a different part of Aelin’s past. I really loved how she has grown out of her fears and her guilt, and has finally managed to be the heir of fire. Her powers enthrall me, and the historical construction was amazing. Now what I am worried about is Maeve: what is her role going to be if she wants the Wyrdkeys for herself? I really don’t know what to expect.
  • I cried two other times. During the battle, when Aelin was being sucked away by darkness, and she saw her beloved smiling at her… Gosh, that was so beautiful. I loved how the scenography played out in that scene, I could actually see all of the smiley faces endearingly looking down at Aelin. Another beautiful scene was a few pages after, when Rowan and Aelin bonded because they were carranam. Just beautiful.
  • I loved how Dorian developed in this book. I really do like him more and more as time passes, and I think his magical abilities are so so hot. When he stood in front of his father and froze the room I could not believe it. At the same time, I am so worried about him. What is going to happen now? He cannot become a Valg, they have to save him. He is the only decent person in that court! As long as Chaol is concerned, I really had a problem with how he handled the rebel situation until the end. Hopefully now he will be a bit more courageous and do the right thing for his kingdom and not for himself.
  • OMG I cannot wait for Aelin to face Arobynn. Some stuff’s about to go down! I just want to read it all. Know it all. Arrgh.
Leave a Reply

