BR: Clockwork Angel, by Cassandra Clare

CA_cover_repackaged-267x400

Title: Clockwork Angel (The Infernal Devices trilogy #1)

Author: Cassandra Clare

Genre: Fantasy/Urban Fantasy, Adventure

Published: 2010

Pages: 448

My Rating: 4/5 Stars

 

 


Synopsis From Goodreads:

The year is 1878. Tessa Gray descends into London’s dark supernatural underworld in search of her missing brother. She soon discovers that her only allies are the demon-slaying Shadowhunters—including Will and Jem, the mysterious boys she is attracted to. Soon they find themselves up against the Pandemonium Club, a secret organization of vampires, demons, warlocks, and humans. Equipped with a magical army of unstoppable clockwork creatures, the Club is out to rule the British Empire, and only Tessa and her allies can stop them…


Hello everyone!

Welcome to my review of Clockwork Angelfirst installment in The Infernal Devices (TID) trilogy by Cassandra Clare. First of all, let me begin by saying that I had no expectation at all going in this trilogy. When I was in middle school I remember trying to read City of Bones, the first book in The Mortal Instruments (TMI) series, and I did not like it. However, I have heard many amazing reviews about this trilogy, and I decided to give Cassie’s books another try, and I was right. I gave the first book 4/5 stars.So, without further ado, let’s get into the book review.

SPOLER FREE SECTION

  • Plot: Tessa Gray has lost everything: her parents are dead, her aunt and carer is dead, and now she has to leave New York and go to London to stay with her brother. It is 1878, and as soon as she lands in England, she is kidnapped by the Dark Sisters, and her world will not be the same ever again. She discovers the Shadowhunters world, and from here, the plot of the first book unfolds. I definitely felt that this first book was meant to set up the other two, and the trilogy as a whole. Never having read any other Shadowhunters novel, I found it easy to get into it, and learning about the world was not hard at all. Though at times a bit slow, I found the plot very engaging, and full of plot-twists.
  • Characters: all the characters were extremely well-developed and unique. As I have already mentioned in other reviews, I really do appreciate when the reader can tell each character apart as if they were real people; I could do this with the characters in Clockwork Angel. I have to admit that I despised Will Herondale at first as much as I admired Charlotte Branwell. I also have to admit that I really liked Henry from the very start, and I was indifferent to Jem. But then time passed, and they grew, and I grew with them.
  • Writing: Cassandra Clare’s writing is peculiar. I don’t know how she does it, but she manages to suck you in and you just keep reading until it is dark out – at least that’s what happened to me. She can jump from one point of view to another, from a slow scene to a fast-paced one without you realizing it. The word choice is beautiful and thought out, and the dramatization of emotions is polished, clear and not over the top. Once again, in certain points it is a bit slow, but it’s worth it.

There is not much else I can say without spoiling any part of the book. If you have not read it, do not read further and just read the trilogy, you will not regret it.

Until next time,

Keky

**SPOILER ALERT** – Do not read further if you do not want to be spoiled!

IMG_4778I loved this first book. Yes, in the beginning I despised Will, but after that kiss… I understood that there was something there, something that he was not telling anyone. As long as Jem is concerned, I really appreciate how he can see through people without judgment; in fact one of Tessa’s struggles was to find herself in the midst of all the people she could transform into, and Jem had the right words to offer: “Certainly it would be wonderful if we all knew exactly who we were. But that knowledge doesn’t come from outside, but from inside. Know thyself as the oracle says”.

I was sure that DeQuincey was the bad guy, even the sound of his name screams “I’m the bad guy!”. I was a bit disappointed at the fact that he was a mere vampire, but when I found out that Mortmain was the real bad guy, and he had played us all, I was furious. He is unctuous, creepy, and wonderfully human. I love it. The idea of automatons has always creeped me out, because they were the army of the bad guy in the first book that made me fall in love with reading when  I was 7 years old. I remember reading it and being afraid of my own shadow! So good job Cassie Clare for scaring me. Overall, this is a good start to what I am sure is a great trilogy.

2 thoughts on “BR: Clockwork Angel, by Cassandra Clare

Leave a Reply

