BR: Clockwork Princess

clockwork-princess-247x400

Title: Clockwork Princess (The Infernal Devices Trilogy #3)

Author: Cassandra Clare

Genre: Fantasy/Urban Fantasy, Adventure

Published: 2013

Pages: 569

My Rating: 5/5 stars

 


Synopsis from Goodreads:

A net of shadows begins to tighten around the Shadowhunters of the London Institute. Mortmain plans to use his Infernal Devices, an army of pitiless automatons, to destroy the Shadowhunters. He needs only one last item to complete his plan: he needs Tessa Gray.
Charlotte Branwell, head of the London Institute, is desperate to find Mortmain before he strikes. But when Mortmain abducts Tessa, the boys who lay equal claim to her heart, Jem and Will, will do anything to save her. For though Tessa and Jem are now engaged, Will is as much in love with her as ever.


Hello Everyone,

and welcome to my review of Clockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare. It took me a while to write this because of school work, but now I am almost done with all my papers and I am thrilled for summer! Anyway, I read this book in a day and a half because I could not stop. I gave it 5/5 stars and keep reading if you want to know my thoughts!

SPOILER-FREE SECTION

  • Plot: as always, Cassie Clare did a great job with plotting. I really admire her capacity of interweaving all the smaller details which all come together once you finish the trilogy/series. When I finished TID I could really see how she had thought about the overarching story as a whole. Obviously there were a couple of major plot twists, of which I will talk about in the spoilery section.
  • Characters: once again, I was pleasantly surprised with the character development. If I thought that the two previous books had done a good job, this one went above and beyond. Other than the amazing character development which Tessa Jem and Will go through, I loved seeing Charlotte grow, along with her husband, and how their relationship bloomed. I liked seeing the Lightwoods grow as well along with Sophie and another character of whom I cannot talk about because it would be a spoiler.
  • Writing: There’s not much to say. The only downside I find in Cassandra’s writing every now and again as I continue reading TMI (The Mortal Instruments) is that the pacing can be a bit slow. But the depth of her themes and the beautiful emotional descriptions make up for it a thousand times.

This is it, this is the non spoiler section of my review. If you have not read this book, I would advise you to leave now and come back once you have done so. Also, random fact, my copy of Clockwork Princess smells sooo good! I don’t know why the paper smells so good in this particular book but I love it. Let me know if you like the smell of paper as well, and if you have read this book please leave a comment and let me know what you thought of it!

Until next time,

Keky

**SPOILER-ALERT** SECTION – Do not read further if you don’t want to be spoiled.

I don’t want to go onto a detailed review about every single aspect of this book, first of all because it could take forever, and secondly because it has been talked about so much. What I wanted to talk about here is this book’s ability of touching your deepest emotions. I don’t know about you, but it had been a very long time since a book made me fall into its claws and kept me there. I read this book in a day and a half and I was completely sucked up in the story. I laughed aloud without realizing it, and I also talked aloud as if speaking to the characters. And I sobbed at the end. It was not a sad sobbing, but a comforting one.

Another thing that this book did, was to shake some of my beliefs, and I love when books do this. I was angry at Tessa for the first half of the book because she did not pick between Jem and Will. When Will and her slept together I was really happy, but a part of me could not help but think that Jem had just – supposedly – die. I don’t know, I did not like it. Until the Epilogue. God the Epilogue. It’s the best one I have read in my life apart from another which I read years ago, and is part of one of my favorite books. In the epilogue I could not stop crying of bittersweet happiness, reading about aging Will, the pain that Tessa felt I felt. And then healed Jem showed up, and I felt once again what Tessa felt, and then I understood: the love, affection and esteem the three characters felt for one another surpassed any moral boundary and I loved seeing how such emotions can transcend time and space. Amazing.

I have to say I like Gabriel and Cecy together as well as Gideon and Sophie. Sophie a Shadowhunter, yeah! And finally I loved Charlotte and Henry’s relationship development. It was inspiring.

Leave a Reply

