April Wrap-Up

IMG_4908.jpgHello Everyone,

and welcome to my third ever monthly wrap up! This month was very strange: busy school-wise (I am still working on my last final paper), it was a heavily packed Cassandra Clare month (as you might have realized by seeing my book reviews) and right now, because of that I am on a bit of a reading slump, ugh. This month I read eight things: 6 books, 1 audiobook and a graphic novel. Overall, this month turned out to be better than I thought, which is good! The books I read in the month of April are the following:

  • The Infernal Devices Trilogy, by Cassandra Clare. This trilogy is composed by Clockwork Angel, Clockwork Prince and Clockwork Princess, and it has become one of my all-time favorite trilogies. I just loved the issues it explored, and the portrayal of love was just so inspiring. Plus, it is set in Victorian London, one of my favorite eras in history, so there you go. And don’t get me started on Will Herondale. Overall, I gave this trilogy an average of 4.7/5 stars.
  • City of Bones, by Cassandra Clare. This book is the first installment in the Mortal Instrument series. I started this series in middle school, and I abandoned it on at the first book. I picked it up again, and I really enjoyed City of Bones, in fact, I gave it 4/5 stars. The problem is, now I am reading City of Ashes, the second book in the series and I am not particularly enjoying it… so it put me on a reading slump, meh.
  • Wuthering Heights: The Graphic Novel, by Emily Brontë and John Burns. This month I went to Haworth, Yorkshire, home of the Brontë sisters, and I decided to pick this one up. I never read graphic novels, only mangas, and I have to say I loved the drawings so much! I ended up giving this 2/5 stars because I have read and studied Wuthering Heights, without counting that this is one of my all-time favorite novels, that I have my own ideas about it and I did not like how some scenes were portrayed.
  • Pride and Prejudice, by Jane Austen. I listened to this one on audiobook, and I highly recommend listening to it if you are not well acquainted with Austen or classics in general. I gave this one 5/5 stars: it was my first time reading it in the original language (I had only read it in Italian), and I loved it! Rosamund Pike narrated it, and it is quite funny how I listened to a book narrated by her, and only last month she sat by me at the theater here in London!
  • The History of Nourjahad, by Frances Sheridan. I read this book for class, and I have to say that I enjoyed it more than I expected: it is a so-called ‘oriental fable’, and it gives an interesting insight on the 18th century British literature and how it portrayed the exotic and the foreign. I gave this one 3/5 stars.
  • The Reflections of Queen Snow Whiteby David Meredith. I was sent a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. Unfortunately I ended up giving it only 2/5 stars because of the love-hate relationship I developed with this story. If you want to know more about it, read the review!

This is it, these are all the things I read/listened to this month. For all the books I have discussed further with a review, I have attached the respective link to the title you see in this monthly wrap up. Let me know which books you have read in April and if you have read any of the ones I have listed.

Until next time,

Keky

Leave a Reply

