BR: Queen of Shadows, by Sarah J. Maas

Queen-of-shadows-uk

Title: Queen of Shadows

Author: Sarah J. Maas

Genre: High Fantasy

Published: 2015

Pages: 645

My Rating: 5/5 stars


Synopsis From Goodreads:

Everyone Celaena Sardothien loves has been taken from her. But she’s at last returned to the empire—for vengeance, to rescue her once-glorious kingdom, and to confront the shadows of her past…
She has embraced her identity as Aelin Galathynius, Queen of Terrasen. But before she can reclaim her throne, she must fight.
She will fight for her cousin, a warrior prepared to die for her. She will fight for her friend, a young man trapped in an unspeakable prison. And she will fight for her people, enslaved to a brutal king and awaiting their lost queen’s triumphant return.


Hello everyone,

welcome to my review of Queen of Shadows, fourth installment in the Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas. I warn you: this book was amazing, and there is not much I can say without spoiling the entire series. Therefore the non spoiler section will be quite short. I am loving this series more and more as the story goes on, and I cannot wait until September 6th when the fifth book, Empire of Storms, will be released. I gave this book 5/5 stars and without further ado let’s get into the review.

SPOILER-FREE REVIEW

  • Plot: oh god. The plot of this book, just like the plot of the second and third books is mind-blowing. Some things I hoped for happened, and some major plot twists had me sitting on the edge of my seat the whole time, swearing and yelling. Sarah has the great ability to conceal information from you just to then throw these plot revelations at your face. And you die. And then you stop. And then you keep reading. I devoured the last 300 pages of this book in one day. Just saying.
  • Characters: the characters in this book went through a major development. Old acquaintances that we met in the novellas appear once again, and our knowledge of the true nature of some other characters deepens. A masterpiece.
  • Writing: I don’t know what to add to my opinions on Sarah’s writing. I can just say that since Throne of Glass her writing style has improved so much, and when I read, all of my five senses are involved in the experience. I also love how she switches between points of view, it works perfectly for the story.

This is it for the spoiler-free section of this book. If you haven’t read the series yet, please do yourself a favor and read it. It is amazing and so human. Let me know what you thought of this book in the comments down below.

Until next time,

Keky

**SPOILER-ALERT** SECTION – Do not read further if you don’t want to be spoiled!

Let’s start from one of the things that hurt most people: the fact that Chaol’s nature was truly shown in this novel. I have to admit, I was not surprised when Aelin got back to Adarlan and for the first few times that the two met up they fought. I always thought that Chaol was a bit closed-minded. I could not understand why, after seeing what the King was doing to his kingdom, he kept following him blindly. I understand that he was attached to Dorian, but did that mean that if Dorian turned out to be a tyrannical leader, that Chaol would have followed him regardless? Where is honor and dignity in that? This is the reason why I loved his character development. After calling Aelin a monster, Chaol re-discovered his values and was ready to put aside all of his prejudices for the greater good, and I really appreciated it.

Even though I thought it was rushed in the beginning, Lysandra and Aelin’s frienship was one of my favorite parts of the novel. Lysandra is a shape shifter and SO badass. I really hope she will get together with Aedion… Do any of you see that happening? I was really happy she was the one to kill Arobynn in the end. Also, the scene where the King of Assassins has Aelin bathe in his favorite scent… and then Rowan wears it too… YES! In your face! Arobynn is such an intriguing character, I could never understand if he really wanted to rule the world with Aelin because of his twisted interest in her or because he just wanted pure power. But now he’s dead, so that’s that.

I am a number one fan of Rowan and Aelin being together. I think he is the only one who can understand, truly and deeply understand her. Neither Chaol or Dorian could get through her as much as Rowan is able to, nor could anyone else reciprocate that to him but Aelin. I like how their relationship is slow burning, and I really want them to be together in the end. I feel like their bond is so deep that it is not easily breakable.

Manon, Asterin and Elide; I loved the scenes that involved them, and I can’t believe that Elide is the daughter of the maid that saved Aelin. I can’t wait for them to reunite. I hope that Manon will turn out to be a decent person, and I would love for her and Dorian to get together… Did you see that glimpse too? I have to admit, I was sure that the King was Erawan. I had predicted that Erawan had been already freed but I would have never imagined that it was Perrington. I have no idea what to expect in the next books and I have no idea how the series will end. Now that the King is dead, and Dorian is alone, I hope the new king will be able to believe in himself and reconstruct his kingdom form its ashes. And last but not least, Kaltain. Amazing. I loved her sacrifice, I thought it was so well done, and I hope I will get to know more about her story in some way or another. I can’t wait to read the next book!

Leave a Reply

