May Wrap-Up

o-PILE-OF-BOOKS-facebook

Hello Everyone!

I cannot believe that May is already gone, it went by so quickly! I traveled quite a lot in the first half of this month, and in the second half I have been really busy and also sick – sniff sniff – to it has been hard to keep up with the blog as much as I did in the previous months, but I promise it will be better in June!

In May I managed to read seven books, three of which I truly loved. I am finally caught up with both the Throne of Glass series and the A Court of Thorns and Roses series by Sarah J. Maas. Unfortunately June will be another very busy month because I will be moving out of my dorm in London and then will move back home the 16th. Hopefully I will have the time to read even in the first half of the month, even though I have to admit that I am listening to audiobooks right now, because I’m always doing something!

Anyway, without further ado, here are the books that I read in the month of May:

  • Queen of Shadows, by Sarah J. Maas. I finally read the fourth book in the Throne of Glass series. I truly loved it, and I really like the direction the story is going. I am excited to read the next one, and I will definitely continue on with the series. If you like high fantasy and you have not yet read this, I strongly recommend you do so right now. I gave it 5/5 stars.
  • IMG_4993 (1).jpgRebel of the Sands, by Alwyn Hamilton. I was so excited to pick up this book because the premise was so intriguing: a story set in the desert with a western feeling to it. Unfortunately the story did not live up to the expectations, and I gave it 3/5 stars. It was not bad, and I think I will continue on with the series, but I thought the author could have gone more into detail about some things.
  • A Court of Thorns and Roses, by Sarah J. Maas. This is a Beauty and the Beast retelling with hot faeries in it. Basically my jam. This is the first installment in the ACOTAR trilogy, and I thought that this was a strong beginning for a story. 4/5 stars.
  • The Picture of Dorian Gray, by Oscar Wilde. This is an old favorite of mine, I love the aesthetic and decadent movement, and this novel is one of the greatest examples of it. I love reading everything that Lord Henry says, in all its absurdity and sometimes truth. I gave it 5/5 stars.
  • A Court of Mist and Fury, by Sarah J. Maas. IT WAS AMAZING. GO READ IT. 5/5 STARS.
  • Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them, and Quidditch Through the Ages, by J.K. Rowling. I gave both of these books 4/5 stars just because I did not think they included much outside of England. Especially in Fantastic Beasts I would have liked to see more species that were from abroad, and not only northern Europe. Other than this, it was extremely cool to pretend to be a Hogwarts student for a bit!

These are the books that I read in the month of May. Let me know if you have read any of them and what you think in the comments below.

Until next time!

Keky

Leave a Reply

