Keky Recommends: Emotional Books

emotional-booksHello Everyone!

Today I want to start a new series: Keky Recommends. I will post new blogs every so often, and what I will do is, given a topic or theme, I will recommend some books that in a way or another were dear to me.

Today’s topic is emotionally draining books. By emotional I both mean that the book made me cry or that it made me feel more strongly than expected. Some of these books are sad, some are happy, and they are all fairly popular. So here we go.

  • clockwork-princess-247x400Clockwork Princessby Cassandra Clare. This overall trilogy was really good, but the last half of the third book is very dear to me. I read this book in a little more than a day, and especially the epilogue left me drained. It was a true cathartic experience. How Cassie describes the bond between the three main characters is beautiful and heart-wrenching, but also heart-warming.
  • Me Before Youby Jojo Moyes. Whether or not you find this book controversial, I thought the bioethical topic it discussed was interesting and realistic. This is a tale of discovery about one-self, and I liked seeing Lou grow. The ending was really emotional but at the same time I ‘understood’.77203
  • The Kite Runnerby Khaled Hosseini. This story is tragic, and there is no excuse nor beating around the bush about it. I read this one almost seven years ago, and I am planning on re-reading it. I read it in one night, and after it I did not read anything for a month, its effect was so powerful.
  • Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenixby J. K. Rowling. I have read this book nine or ten times and it still makes me really emotional. Especially the last chapters with Dumbledore after the happenings at the Ministry of Magic. I think this book shows Harry’s struggles with his own history and identity, and it is so well done that you truly feel with him.
  • The Perks of Being a Wallflowerby Stephen Chbosky. I read this one in a particular moment in my life, where I saw everything through a dark lens. The soundtrack and the hope that this book gave me made me feel a little bit of light, re-teaching me how to appreciate the small things.
  • 72486_originalHeir of Fire, by Sarah J. Maas. I have a particular attachment with this one. There is a
    particular scene that, when I read it, it seemed to me so real that I completely identified with it. What made me emotional was the deep understanding and loathing of one-self that is then turned into acceptance. Beautiful.
  • A Court of Mist and Furyby Sarah J. Maas. The last few chapters killed me. I could not read all of this book in one sitting because I was so scared something was going to happen to the characters that I could not bring myself to read on. It made me feel angry, exhilarated and sad all at once.
  • Dragonfly in Amberby Diana Gabaldon. The last few chapters of this one take a big emotional toll on anyone who reads it. Desperation among other things is what I felt the most; but I also understood how strong and strange real love is.

Here are my recommendations for books emotionally draining. Please comment and let me know what other books you have read that made you feel particularly emotional, I am curious to know!

Until next time,

Keky

5 thoughts on “Keky Recommends: Emotional Books

  1. The Kite Runner is a book that really got to me. So much so that I don’t think I have the courage to read it again. It made me so emotionally drained and angry at so many parts. It is certaintly a worthy novel for this list.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I absolutely agree. The thing is, I read it when I was fifteen. Now I am almost 22, and I am curious to see how I react to it now. I will definitely have to pick the right time to dive into it again!

      Like

  2. OMG I’m kinda scared to pick up the throne of glass series. Everyone is telling me that they go through serious emotions in this novel. gahhh but i still wanna read it!!! The frustrations are so real!

    Yes, but Harry Potter will always get to me! My childhood . . .

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes the Throne of Glass series sometimes gets emotional. What I like about it is that it’s very realistic, and I really appreciate it. The first book is not great but all the others are.. I would highly recommend it! Let me know if you end up reading it 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

