June Wrap-Up

756286-books-wallpaper

Hello everyone!

I come to you with my June Wrap-Up a bit late because I have not had wifi nor the time to share it with you since I was on vacation. Anyway, June was a very strange month, because the 18th I moved back to Italy from London for about a month and a half before going back to the States. So, with the moving and everything else it was a bit hectic.

Anyway, without further ado, these are the books that I read in the month of June:

  • Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix, by J. K. Rowling. ootp-us-jacket-artThere is not much to say here. I have lost count of how many times I have read this, and it’s still a 5/5 star read. This time I listened to it in audiobook and I have to say, with Harry Potter the reading experience is always better than the audio one.
  • A Beginner’s Guide to Druids, by Sophie Cornish. This was a nonfiction read that was quite interesting but also at the same time quite repetitive. It was really interesting to learn about druidry and their connection to the physical and spiritual spheres of life. I gave this book a 3/5 stars.
  • 18189606Since You’ve Been Gone, by Morgan Matson. I had never read any of her books before, and I read two this month. I have to say that I found a pattern between the two: nothing happens until the very end of the book. Nonetheless, it is a nice summery read, and I liked how the character grew by the end of the book. I gave this book 3.75/5 stars.
  • Second Chance Summer, by Morgan Matson. This book deals with a heavy issue, and even though nothing happens for the first 300 pages of the novel, I think that the author did a decent job at dealing with illness and death, in the end. Therefore I gave this book 3.5 stars even though the whole story was dragged way too long.
  • The Invasion of the Tearling, by Erika Johansen. the-invasion-of-the-tearling-by-erika-johansen-v2This is the second novel in the trilogy of The Queen of the Tearling. The genre of the first book was high fantasy, however, the second book opens up a whole new spectrum of genres, including distopian, futuristic and a hint of science fiction. While I appreciated the first book for its psychological take, I loved the second one because it brought so much more to the table. From political intrigues, to economic problems, to religious fanaticism, to self hatred, but most of all it highlighted how morality can be something subjective and completely arbitrary. A review is to come, I highly recommend the trilogy. I gave this book 5/5 stars.
  • Matilda, by Mary Shelley. I have only read Frankenstein by Mary Shelley, which is one of my favorite novels of all time, thus I was curious to read something else by her. This short novel deals with the incestual thoughts that a father has towards her daughter, and because of the controversy of the subject matter, the novel was not published until a century after it was written. I thought it was very interesting to see how such feelings can bring a person to destruction, and Shelley’s romantic descriptions of the landscapes added to the reading experience. I gave it 3.74 stars.

These are all the things that I read in the month of June. If you have read any, or if you have any recommendations, please do not hesitate to comment below to let me know! Thank you for stopping by.

Until next time,

Keky

One thought on “June Wrap-Up

Leave a Reply

