July Wrap-Up

Books-bookshelf-person-head-540w

Hello Everyone,

and welcome back to another monthly wrap-up. I have travelled a lot in July up until now, and even though we are already well into August it doesn’t seem real. In less than a week I will be back in Chicago for my senior year of college, and I have to say that I am really excited. In July, I managed to read five novels and a poetry book, and here they are:

  • Beautiful Chaos, by R. M. Drake. 23434371This is a new-age poetry collection. You can read it in one sitting, and what I like about Drake’s poetry is that it is very easy to understand. It sounds more like aphorisms than real poetry, and some of the pages contain somewhat fast and almost superficial lines, but others are very enjoyable and true. I gave it 3/5 stars.
  • The Fifth Wave, by Rick Yancey. I listened to this on audiobook, and I think that if I had not the opportunity to do so, I probably would have not finished it. I found it somewhat tedious and dragging at times, even though the idea is extremely intriguing and yes, terrifying. I gave it 3/5 stars.
  • an-ember-in-the-ashes-coverAn Ember in the Ashes, by Sabaa Tahir. I really enjoyed this book. It took me some time to get used to the present tense narrative style; however, the two stories presented are beautifully woven to one another. I am definitely excited to continue on with the series. I gave it 4/5 stars.
  • Senza Sangue (Without Blood), by Alessandro Baricco. I have read several books by this Italian author, and two of those are among my all-time favorites. However, this one I did not like. I found it without a purpose, and with very little detail about the story. It seemed to me that the author gave a summary of a woman’s life without providing the depth the story ought to have. I gave it 2/5 stars.
  • Jane Eyre, by Charlotte Brontë. janeeyreThis novel is a true masterpiece. I think every man should read it merely for the fact that it portrays the life of an independent women in the 1800s. Charlotte is an amazing writer, the depth she gives to her characters is intriguing and real. I loved it! Obviously a 5/5 stars read.
  • The Night Circus, by Erin Morgenstern. This was one of the most interesting reads I have had this year. I have seldom read a novel with magical realism, and I enjoyed it very much. The idea of a night circus that is the battle ground for a magic war is something I have not read anywhere else. I gave it 4/5 stars.

These are all the books that I read in the month of July. As you can see, there were some that I loved, and some that were mediocre, but overall, it was a pretty good month. I now want to read all the novels written by the Brontë sisters, since Jane Eyre and Wuthering Heights are two of my favorite books of all times. Let me know if you have read any of these and comment down below what you thought of them!

Until next time,

Keky

4 thoughts on “July Wrap-Up

Leave a Reply

