August and September Wrap-Up

Hello Everyone,

and welcome back to my August and September wrap-up. I did not write one in August just because, with the fact that in the middle of the month I moved back to Chicago and I had a lot of things to do, I ended up reading only two books. That’s okay though, because in September I read a total of seven things, and almost finished Mistborn by Brandon Sanderson – which I plan to finish today – and let me tell you, it’s a pretty huge book. So without further ado, here are the things I read in the past two months.

AUGUST

  • Harry_Potter_and_the_Cursed_Child_Special_Rehearsal_Edition_Book_CoverHarry Potter and the Cursed Child, by J. K. Rowling, John Tiffany and Jack Thorne. As I am sure most of you know, this is the script of a play that is going on in the West End in London, which features the story of Harry and his friends 19 years after the battle of Hogwarts. I initially gave it 4/5 stars, however I have lowered the rating to 3/5 stars recently. If you want to read my full review you can find it here.
  • The Tenant Of Wildfell Hall, by Anne Brontë. This is an amazing novel. Set and written in Victorian England, it recounts the story of a woman who has a secret, and because of this secret she becomes the victim of prejudice. In reality she is the victim of an abusive relationship, and writing about such matters in the 1800s was not very common. I love the Brontes, and plan on writing a guide on how to approach their novels. Let me know if you are interested in it. 5/5 stars.

SEPTEMBER

  • A Torch Against the Night, by Sabaa Tahir. torchThis is the second book in the Ember in the Ashes series. It is a very fast paced novel – sometimes too fast paced – but definitely worth the read. The turn it took definitely took me by surprise and I would have never expected it, so that is a plus. I also like where the series is going and am excited to read the sequel. You can find my review here.
  • Prufrock and Other Poems, by T.S. Eliot. This was a required reading for my TS Eliot honors class. Being Italian sometimes it is difficult for me to completely grasp the meaning of poetry especially modernist poetry. I have read Milton and the Romantics before, and I did not find them as difficult. I gave this collection a 3/5 stars, because certain poems I loved, but others I did not like as much. I would still recommend them though.
  • A Room of One’s Own, by Virginia Woolf. Another required reading for my Women in Literature class, I think this should be a required reading for everyone and anyone. This is a series of lecture Woolf gave in the 1920s at a girls college, and I thik it is a perfect way of getting to know both Woolf’s literature but also feminism in itself. I will definitely re-read this multiple times, 5/5 stars.
  • 51FEhUEvwLL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_Empire of Storms, by Sarah J. Maas. This was one of my anticipated reads of 2016, and even though a couple of things did not resonate with me, it was still amazing and I gave it 5/5 stars. This is the fifth book in the Throne of Glass series, and I am so excited to see where this series will end. You can find a full review here.
  • In Search of Our Mother’s Gardens, by Alice Walker. I read this for my Women in Literature class as well, and I found it extremely interesting. Walker explores the same themes that Woolf did, however she sheds a different light to the whole matter and sometimes comes to different conclusions. I think it is really important to read this in order to understand African-American feminism. 5/5 stars.
  • Peter Pan, by J.M. Barrie. 51gm5rp3wl-_ac_ul320_sr236320_My lovely roommate got me a beautiful copy of this book, which is her favorite book, for my birthday. I loved this novel so much, and I was not expecting it. I really want to take a class on it, because I think there is so much to say about the world that Barrie built; the ending was heart-wrenching to me, and even though I knew how it would end, it still caught me by surprise. I will definitely read this to my kids one day. 5/5 stars.
  • The Waste Land, by T.S. Eliot. As you might guess, once again this was a required reading, and I have to say, I really enjoyed it. I think it is a very interesting take on modern society and how society reacted to the horrors of the Second World War. Eliot definitely was extremely well-rounded in his education and I highly admire that. I gave it 5/5 stars.

These are all the things that I read in the past two months! Please let me know if you have read any of them and what you thought about them. Have a lovely weekend.

Until next time,

Keky

5 thoughts on “August and September Wrap-Up

Leave a Reply

