BR: Mistborn, Brandon Sanderson

mistborntrilogyTitle: Mistborn (Mistborn Trilogy #1)

Author: Brandon Sanderson

Genre: High Fantasy

Published: 2006

Pages: 659

My rating: 5/5 stars


Synopsis from Goodreads:

Once, a hero rose to save the world. He failed.
For a thousand years since, the world has been a wasteland of ash and mist ruled by the immortal emperor known as the Lord Ruler. Every revolt has failed miserably.
Yet somehow, hope survives. Hope that dares to dream of ending the empire and defeating the Lord Ruler. A new kind of uprising is being planned—one that depends on the cunning of a brilliant criminal mastermind and the determination of an unlikely heroine: a teenage street urchin named Vin.
Once, a hero rose to save the world and failed. This time, can a young heroine succeed?


Hello Everyone,

and welcome to my review of Mistborn, the Final Empire by Brandon Sanderson. I know I am late in the game, but, as they say better late than never right? This is the first book in a high fantasy trilogy that is quite popular, and let me tell you that it is popular for a reason. Brandon Sanderson is one of the best fantasy writers. So, without further ado, let’s get into the review.

SPOLER-FREE SECTION

  • Plot: the plot in this book is amazingly woven. Sanderson masters each small piece in order to fit it together in the end, and it works perfectly. I loved seeing the history unfold, little by little. The story is definitely mysterious: the reader learns the most through Vin’s perspective, who does not know much about the political and economic intrigues of her land, because she has been forced to live in the shadows for most of her life. The plot twist at the end I was not expecting; it tore my heart to pieces. I definitely did not see it coming.
  • Characters: the characters is what made me fall in love with this book so much. They are all so beautifully flawed, and seem so human. It was the first time in a long time that I felt so much for them, especially the protagonists. I could laugh with them, and cry with them, and the way Sanderson built their characterization is wonderful.
  • Writing: the writing is beautiful. Not always fast paced, but  when it is, you’re glued to your sit until you finish the book. I definitely think the main strength of this book is dialogue: each character has a particular way of expressing him or herself, and that is so  difficult to achieve in writing. I think here it was done very well. The only thing that I did not love were the battle scenes, due to the type of magic system; don’t get me wrong, I love the magic system, however, I think that when battle scenes come around it slows down the pace a bit.

These are all my non-spoilery thoughts about Mistborn. If you have not read it yet, do it, you will not regret it. Please let me know in the comments if you have read it and what you thought about it. I would love to discuss it!

Until next time,

Keky

**SPOILER-ALERT** SECTION – Do not read further if you don’t want to be spoiled.

There is not much to say that I have not already said before, however, I want to talk about how much I like Kelsier’s character. I really like him because sometimes I hated him. He is flawed, sometimes arrogant, hilarious and a great fighter. He really does care, you know. And what I loved the most is that when he seemed to go overboard and just bash at the nobility out of pure hatred, and Vin talked to him, he really listened, humbled, and was ready to question his own beliefs. When he was killed I was shocked. I did not see it coming, and it destroyed me. He will always be one of my favorite characters of all time I think.

I have now started the second book, Elend is more present in it. However, I really liked his character in the first book. Naive but full of curiosity and ambition, and I really admired it. He loves reading political and socio-economic treaties because he dreams for a better world. And not only he dreams about it, but he actually wants to do something about it too, which is great.

And the Crew. The crew was awesome. I love each and everyone of them, Breeze cracks me up, and Sazed is so cool. I love the idea of Keepers and Feruchemy, and I think we will learn some more about it in the next books. I also really enjoyed the world-building and could picture it very well in my mind. Overall, great, great book.

One thought on “BR: Mistborn, Brandon Sanderson

Leave a Reply

