BR: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

miss-peregrines-home-peculiar_book-cover

Title: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children (Miss Peregrine’s Children #1)

Author: Ransom Riggs

Genre: Supernatural Fantasy

Published: 2011

Pages: 352

My rating: 3.5/5 stars


Synopsis from Goodreads:

A mysterious island. An abandoned orphanage. A strange collection of curious photographs.
A horrific family tragedy sets sixteen-year-old Jacob journeying to a remote island off the coast of Wales, where he discovers the crumbling ruins of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. As Jacob explores its abandoned bedrooms and hallways, it becomes clear that the children were more than just peculiar. They may have been dangerous. They may have been quarantined on a deserted island for good reason. And somehow—impossible though it seems—they may still be alive.


Hello Everyone,

and welcome to my review of Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children, by Ransom Riggs. Since the movie came out, and I would like to watch it, I figured I would read the book first. And I did not regret it. This series has been talked a lot about lately, and I have to say that this is a very interesting story, told in a very interesting format. Here is my review.

SPOLER-FREE SECTION

  • Plot: the plot in this novel was very interesting. At times creepy, at times whimsical, I really enjoyed going on this journey with Jacob. One thing i very much appreciated was the fact that mental illness was talked about in this novel. Living in a society very much ‘normalized’ and defined by many boundaries, it is very interesting to see how people who claim to see/experience the supernatural would be treated. The plot came about beautifully at the end, and I am definitely eager to pick up the next book. I have to admit, I was able to predict most that happened in the plot though.
  • Characters: I very much liked Jacob’s character – the one we see most of – and how he struggles between self-perception and outer-perception. This is a topic that has always interested me, and it was interesting to see the characterization of the protagonist having to do with this theme for at least 75% of the novel. The struggle he is torn by is a mixture of what people think of him and what he thinks of himself, and I think that was very interesting to read about. There was not much else characterization done, and I am looking forward to see more of it.
  • Writing: the novel is told in the first person narrative, and the reader gets much insight in Jacob’d head, learning about the world along with him. It was sassy, dramatic and mysterious, a recipe for success. I did think it was quite slow in the beginning however, and that is why I did not give it a full 4 stars in the end. Also the lack of more depth in other characters’ characterization – I apologize for the tautology here – was a factor that influenced my decision.

Here is my non-spoiler review of Miss Peregrine’s. If you  have read it and are eager to talk about it, please comment down below, and I will be more than happy to discuss it. Let me know if you think the movie is worth watching as well!

Until next time,

Keky

 

3 thoughts on “BR: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

  1. Your observation about the book is true.
    Actually, I have already read the 3 books, the 2nd installment was my favorite because it digs deeper.
    But for me the whole series failed on the characterization side, digging deeper to each powers. Also, that’s why I need to see the movie and buy the Tales of the Peculiar, maybe on those medium, characters are deeper.
    Overall, I love it, just like you said it is creepy and whimsical at the same time.

    Hopefully, I didn’t spoil a thing. 🙂

    Like

    1. Thank you for your comment and insight I will definitely keep it in mind! And yes, characterization is really important to me, and as I said I thought Jacob was wonderful! However, I want to read the next two and I will see how I feel about them!

      Like

Leave a Reply

