Keky Recommends: Halloween Reads

brand-thunder-halloween-backgroundHello Everyone,

and welcome back to another ‘Keky Recommends’ post. Since we already are in the middle of October, I thought I would share with you five books that could be considered creepy reads and might be able to get us in the Halloween mood. As a disclaimer, I do not read nor like horror books, I have a very fervent imagination, and suffer from bad nightmares, so I try not to feed my mind with too much eerie stuff. That said, these are the books that came to my mind when thinking about creepy reads.

  • Marina, by Carlos Ruiz Zafon. marinaThis book is so creepy. It is a modern Gothic novel set in Barcelona, and it follows Oscar as he develops a strange friendship with a girl named Marina. Together, they will have to uncover certain mysteries surrounding the city, and let me tell you, this book gives you chills. The setting, the whimsical and eloquent writing, and the evocative language will make you want to hide under your blankets.
  • Dracula, Bram Stoker. This is a well-known classic Gothic novel. I read it when I was fifteen, and I really want to read it again, because I enjoyed it so very much. I am sure you know this is the story of Count Dracula, a Vampire. The story is told in journal entries, and you really get into the mind of the narrator. Completely worth the read.
  • miss-peregrines-home-peculiar_book-coverMiss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, by Ransom Riggs. I have read this very recently, and I quite enjoyed it. It’s a young adult read, so do not expect extremely scary and gory stuff. However, since it deals with mental illness – or at least the outer perception of it – it is creepy and interesting. Also, this text is a mixture of prose narration and vintage pictures, and it is amazing how much your reading experience will be improved by them! You can find my review here.
  • The Infernal Devices Trilogy, by Cassandra Clare. CA_cover_repackaged-267x400 I chose this trilogy mainly because of the setting, which is Victorian London (one of my all-time favorite literary and historical periods) and it has to do with demons and monsters. This is a great trilogy which deals with very important themes, it has a nice pace and a lot of actions. Sometimes hilarious, sometimes dramatic, sometimes melancholic, you will enjoy it for sure. You can find my review of the first book here.
  • Wuthering Heights, by Emily Bronte. There cannot be a ‘Keky Recommends’ without me mentioning at least once this beautiful masterpiece. This is one of my favorite books of all time, it is violent, creepy, sad, and the line between good and evil is stretched so thin that sometimes you have a hard seeing it. Set in the Yorkshire moorland in a desolate and misanthropic setting, this is the perfect read if you want to get a Halloween vibe.

These are the books that came to my mind when I thought the word ‘Halloween’. If you have any other suggestions, please let me know down below! What is your costume going to be this year? I am still thinking about it.

Until next time,

Keky

Leave a Reply

