December Wrap Up

snow-beautiful-image-drawing

Hello Everyone,

sorry for the delay. Between finals and going home – back to Italy – for three weeks for Christmas break did not help me blogging nor reading. In fact I read only four books this month. They are all different genres, and there is a debut among them which I am excited to share with you. These are the books that I read in the month of December.

  • Selected Prose, by T.S. Eliot: I gave this collection 3/5 stars because some essays I thoroughly enjoyed, and some others not so much. Overall, after studying Eliot for a whole semester, I have come to the conclusion that I do not like most of his works, he just does not resonate well with my tastes.
  • Trifles, by Susan Glaspell: I found this play to be extremely complex in its simplicity. I think the underlying feminist criticism is very well thought out and it is worth reading. I gave this play 4/5 stars.
  • The Watchmaker of Filigree Street, by Natasha Pulley: this is the debut I was mentioning above. I very much enjoyed this book, the story was like anything else I had read before. The historical setting was very well flashed out, and the hints at Japanese culture and history were fascinating. A great debut for who is going to be a great writer. I gave it 4/5 stars.
  • The Heart of Betrayal, by Mary E. Pearson: the sequel to The Kiss of Deception surely did not disappoint. I very much enjoyed this book, it was more political than the first one, however it certainly did not lack action. I cannot wait to get my hands on the last book of the trilogy. I gave it 4/5 stars.

These are all the books I read in December. Let me know what books you have read, and which ones were your favorites!

Until next time,

Keky

Leave a Reply

