Semester Reads: Spring 2017

dsc_6976-opt

Hello Everyone,

Today I thought I would do something a little different. I want to share with you most of the things that I am reading this semester for Uni. I say most of them because for my Classics course we have to read a lot of sections from numerous authors, but not whole books. Therefore I will only tell you which physical books I have to read this semester. I am taking a total of five classes, four English classes and the Classics one.

English 395: Contemporary African American Literature – Slavery and Postmemory.

  • The Narrative Life of Frederick Douglass, by Frederick Douglass
  • My Bondage and My Freedom, by Frederick Douglass
  • The Known World, by E. P. Jones
  • Dessa Rose, by Shirley Anne Williams
  • The Good Lord Bird, by James McBride
  • The Underground Railroad, by Colson Whitehead

English 290: Human Values in Literature – Non-Western Voices

  • Things Fall Apart, by Chinua Achebe
  • Wide Sargasso Sea, by Jean Rhys
  • The Woman Warrior, by Maxine Hong Kingston
  • No Telephone to Heaven, by Michelle Cliff
  • July’s People, by Nadine Gordimer
  • Cracking India, by Bapsi Sidhawa

Classical Studies 384: Humanist of Antiquity II – Rome

  • Ancient Rome: From Romulus to Justinian, by Thomas R. Martin
  • Miles Gloriosus, by Plautus
  • Adelphi, by Terentius
  • Thyestes, by Seneca
  • Aeneid, by Virgil
  • Pro Lege Manilia and Pro Caelio, by Cicero

English 354: Critical Theory

  • The Lazarus Project, by Aleksandar Hemon

Please let me know if you have read any of them and if you have any tips about these readings!

Until next time,

Keky

 

Leave a Reply

