BR: The Name of the Wind, by Patrick Rothfuss

cover_277

Title: The Name of the Wind (The Kingkiller Chronicle #1)

Author: Patrick Rothfuss

Genre: High Fantasy

Published: 2007

Pages: 722

My Rating: 5/5 stars


Synopsis from Goodreads

Told in Kvothe’s own voice, this is the tale of the magically gifted young man who grows to be the most notorious wizard his world has ever seen.
The intimate narrative of his childhood in a troupe of traveling players, his years spent as a near-feral orphan in a crime-ridden city, his daringly brazen yet successful bid to enter a legendary school of magic, and his life as a fugitive after the murder of a king form a gripping coming-of-age story unrivaled in recent literature.
A high-action story written with a poet’s hand, The Name of the Wind is a masterpiece that will transport readers into the body and mind of a wizard.


Hello Everyone!

Welcome to my review of the epic The Name of the Wind, by Patrick Rothfuss. Now, I know a lot of people have told me that I had to read this book, and yes, I finally have. And may I tell you how happy I am I did, because let’s be honest, this is one of a kind. I obviously gave it 5/5 stars, and so, without further ado, here are my thoughts.

SPOLER-FREE SECTION

  • Plot: Mr. Rothfuss is a genius in weaving plots. He truly is. It is very hard to describe how incredibly thought out the story is, unless you read it. It is not only a mere fantasy story, or the memoir of a hero. There is so much more in it that is worth anybody’s time.
  • Characters: Kvothe is the best. Extremely flawed, extremely clever, all around lovable. As you keep reading, you grow and learn along with him and you suffer with him. Denna is very bad ass… I still do not know how suspicious I want to be of her, and I am definitely intrigued by her past. I loved Abenthy too. Such a good man and well developed character. And then Sim and Wil.. how can you not love them? All the characters were portrayed extremely well, they felt like real people. Both likable and not, I can definitely say that Pat Rothfuss is a master when it comes to characterization.
  • Writing: The writing is probably the most beautiful part of this book. Whimsical, poetic, eloquent, but also rough, dry and severe. Every line is well crafted, and if you like amazing writing with versatility this is for you. Even though sometimes it could feel a little slow paced, the writing was so beautiful that it was a pleasure reading it nonetheless.

These are all my non-spoilery thoughts about this epic novel. If you have not read it yet, please do yourself a favor and do so. I cannot wait to read the second installment! If you have read this book please comment below so we can talk about it, I need to know what you think and if you liked it 🙂

Until next time,

Keky

**SPOILER-ALERT** SECTION – Do not read further if you don’t want to be spoiled.

Where to start… I do not even know. This novel is everything you could ever want. A memoir, historical Fantasy, a mystery, an action book. I cannot wait for Kvothe to face the Chandrian, and oh my god, when he was expelled from the University I thought, “here we go”. I knew he was going to be expelled and I was very confused when in reality they let him stay and study under Elodin. But I do know that he will be expelled once and for all in the near future and I do not want that to happen.

I am very curious to see what is going to happen with Ambrose, and some bad things are bound to come up. I also want to learn more about Denna’s past… there is something off about her, and I want to find out why. When Kvothe went into the Archives with a candle I thought how dumb he was, of course he was expelled, and argh, I need to know what is behind that door! Ari is another very interesting character and I want to get to know her better, as well as about Bast and Chronicler.

Okay guys, this is pointless I don’t even know what I am talking about anymore, it is so hard to pinpoint anything because there is so much to this story and I want it all! I will wait a bit to read the second book so that maybe it will be closer to the date when the third one comes out (which I hope will be soon!)

Leave a Reply

