BR: Warbreaker, by Brandon Sanderson

13343734

Title: Warbreaker

Author: Brandon Sanderson

Genre: Adult High Fantasy

Published: 2012

Pages: 652

My Rating: 5/5 stars


Synopsis from Goodreads:

This is the story of two sisters, who happen to be princesses. Theirs is a world in which those who die in glory return as gods to live confined to a pantheon in Hallandren’s capital city. A world transformed by a power based on an essence known as breath. Using magic is arduous as breath can only be collected one unit at a time.


Hello Everyone!

Welcome to my review of Brandon Sanderson’s Warbreaker, a High Fantasy novel dealing with politics, religion, and self-discovery. After reading the Mistborn Trilogy by Sanderson I knew that I wanted to get my hands on all of his adult books, so I decided to pick this one up and I was not disappointed. So, without further ado, let’s get into my review!

SPOLER-FREE SECTION

  • Plot: Sanderson is a master at plot development and world-building, and even though this book was a standalone, the author managed to create a complex world with a thoroughly thought-out plot. The plot twist at the end is not expected, and even though certain clues are dropped here and there, the reader will not be able to figure out exactly what is going on until the very end.
  • Characters: The characters are well developed as well. Because the entirety of this book takes place within a city, there is the space to develop the psychological and interior endeavors of the two sisters as well as the God King and the lesser god, Lightsong.
  • Writing: The writing is beautiful and evocative, as always. Sanderson has a way with writing that renders the characters very realistic without truly describing them: he manages to create real people through actions and dialogue, which I think is really hard and highly admirable.

These are all my spoiler free thoughts on Warbreaker. Please let me know if you have read it and what you thought of it! What is your favorite Sanderson book?

Until next time,

Keky

**SPOILER-ALERT** SECTION – Do not read further if you don’t want to be spoiled.

Where to begin? As always with Sanderson there is a plot twist at the end that completely tips the scales over. I loved learning about the politics and religion of this world, and I know it was maybe the most predictable part of the novel, but when I learned that Susebron did not have a tongue and was controlled by the priests I freaked out. After that I loved him so much he soon became one of my favorite characters. The fact that the high priests were not the bad guys was  also kind of a surprise, even though I suspected that after the conversation that happened in the garden.

I was really disappointed when the mercenaries betrayed the princes, I really was rooting for them. Especially when they brutally killed her friend, I thought to myself how stereotypes are perpetrated. I was so so sad. Overall, great read!

Leave a Reply

