BR: The Wise Man’s Fear, by Patrick Rothfuss

25020c03e81e5472d5ea9924bc959a40

Title: The Wise Man’s Fear (The Kingkiller Chronicles, #2)

Author: Patrick Rothfuss

Genre: Adult High Fantasy

Published: 2011

Pages: 1000

My Rating: 5/5 stars


Synopsis from Goodreads:

In The Wise Man’s Fear, Kvothe searches for answers, attempting to uncover the truth about the mysterious Amyr, the Chandrian, and the death of his parents. Along the way, Kvothe is put on trial by the legendary Adem mercenaries, forced to reclaim the honor of his family, and travels into the Fae realm. There he meets Felurian, the faerie woman no man can resist, and who no man has ever survived…until Kvothe.Now, Kvothe takes his first steps on the path of the hero and learns how difficult life can be when a man becomes a legend in his own time.


Hello Everyone,

Welcome to my review of the second book in Patrick Rothfuss’ epic fantasy series. The Kingkiller Chronicles are an amazing trilogy, and everyone who loves either memoirs or adult fantasy should read it. To know more about my thoughts and feelings, keep reading!

SPOLER-FREE SECTION

  • Plot: Mr. Rothfuss is a master at creating intricate plots. Every word that is spoken and every action that is accomplished servers to the overall story, which is sign of a greatly developed novel. This second novel was definitely more focused on Kvothe’s story rather than the present story line. However, this means that the third and final book will have to resolve a lot of cliffhangers.
  • Characters: The characters are one of the strongest features of the novel. Kvothe, Denna, and all the others are very well developed, flawed and human. They definitely do feel real, and you love and hate them equally. There are so many sides to these character, and it is just a pleasure to read about them.
  • Writing: This is another strong element of the book. The writing style molds and adapts according to the scene described, which is amazing. It is lyrical, harsh and emotional, overall exquisite.

There is not much else I can say about this book without spoiling something – so much happens! Please let me know if you have read it and what you thought of it! If you have not read The Name of the Wind yet, do so, and you will not regret it!

Until next time,

Lucrezia

**SPOILER-ALERT** SECTION – Do not read further if you don’t want to be spoiled.

There is so much that was unsaid in this book. I want to know more about Denna’s past, and obviously I hate that her patron beats her – I really want to find out who that is. Also, I kind of ship Kvothe and Devi.

I had heard a lot of critiques about the treatment of sex in the novel, but honestly I did not find anything particularly problematic about it. Kvothe is young, and I would dare anyone to not sleep with a creature like Felurian! Also, when the two village girls are raped Kvothe is the first who is not patronizing and sees them as human beings, therefore I do not think he is sexist at all. He is just full of hormones, and we all have been, there is nothing wrong with it.

One of the characters that left me wondering was the Maer. I don’t know if he will come up again, but he has an eerie aura about him. I did not like him, he was not appreciative and a smug. One thing I loved though, was the overall discussion of the Edema Ruh. There are so many relevant themes in the portrayal of the troupe, including contemporary prejudice against gypsies, which is think should be addressed more often.

4 thoughts on “BR: The Wise Man’s Fear, by Patrick Rothfuss

  1. I have seen this title.. and wow.. 1000 pages! this author only writes long books I have noticed.. I’m glad it’s a 5 stars read for you. I haven’t read any books by this author yet. Which do you like to read more: adult fantasy or YA fantasy?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah he writes really thick books but they are completely worth the read! And I have to say that I really do love adult fantasy. It’s just way more developed than YA, but that might also stem from the fact that I am getting older hahaha! What about you? Which one do you prefer?

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

