BR: Every Heart a Doorway

9780765385505_custom-f5a6896c76bab91434bb389e0c5eae3ff2599afb-s300-c85

Title: Every Heart a Doorway

Author: Seanan McGuire

Genre: Contemporary Fantasy

Published: 2016

Pages: 173

My Rating: 2.5/5 stars


Synopsis From Goodreads:

Children have always disappeared under the right conditions; slipping through the shadows under a bed or at the back of a wardrobe, tumbling down rabbit holes and into old wells, and emerging somewhere… else.
But magical lands have little need for used-up miracle children.
Nancy tumbled once, but now she’s back. The things she’s experienced… they change a person. The children under Miss West’s care understand all too well. And each of them is seeking a way back to their own fantasy world.
But Nancy’s arrival marks a change at the Home. There’s a darkness just around each corner, and when tragedy strikes, it’s up to Nancy and her new-found schoolmates to get to the heart of the matter.
No matter the cost.


Hello Everyone,

and welcome to my review of Every Heart a Doorway by Seanan McGuire. This is the first book I have read by this author, and I have to say I was a little disappointed. As a disclaimer, I was also reading the Well of Ascension at the same time, so that did not help! However, without further ado, here are my thoughts and feelings about this book.

SPOLER-FREE SECTION

  • Plot: The plot was really straight-forward, and I have to say, I saw the ending coming already on the second chapter. I knew who the bad guy behind all the murders was from the very beginning, so the plot was not well developed, or at least, the novel was too short to develop it properly. I have to say that I like the ending though, and I will probably read the sequel if it comes out, just to know what happens. After all, it’s a pretty quick read.
  • Characters: once again, there was no room for development. The headmaster of the school basically never appears, and there is not enough explanation about the character’s personalities. Even the main character was awkward and not developed.
  • Writing: finally something I really liked. I really like McGuire whimsical and poetic writing style, I really appreciated some of the metaphors and the phrasing in this novel. However, the world as not developed enough and it was hard to keep track of the world-building, because it was never fully explained. Another thing I really appreciated though, was the diversity in this book: the main character is a-sexual, while another is transgender. I thought that was really interesting.

Here are all my spoiler-free thoughts about this book! Please let me know if you have read it and what you thought of it. Since there is not much else to say about this book spoiler-wise, I will not have a spoiler section. The only thing I would say is that I enjoyed the ending.

Until next time,

Keky

 

Leave a Reply

